Report for:	Annual Full Council – 22 May 2017
Title:	Statement of Members' Attendance 2016/17
authorised by :	Bernie Ryan – Assistant Director Corporate Governance & Monitoring Officer
Lead Officer:	Michael Kay, Democratic Services and Scrutiny Manager 0208 489 2920 michael.kay@haringey.gov.uk
Ward(s) affected:	All

Report for Key/ Non Key Decision: Non Key

1. Describe the issue under consideration

1.1 To note the statement of Member attendance for the period 16th May 2016 to 12 May 2017.

2. Cabinet Member Introduction

N/A

3. Recommendations

3.1 That the statement of attendance, as attached, be noted.

4. BACKGROUND

4.1 Part four of the Council Constitution at section C paragraph 8 [Statement of attendances] advises that a statement showing the actual and possible attendances of each member at meetings of the Council and its Committees and Sub committees since and including the last annual meeting shall be presented annually to the council at its last meeting in each municipal year and be entered in the minutes.

5. Comments of the Assistant Director Corporate Governance & Monitoring Officer

- 5.1 Attendance of members at meetings of the the council is required to consider relevant facts and issues relating to the functions of the Council.
- 5.2 Section 85 of the Local Government Act 1972 states that if a member of the council fails throughout a period of six consecutive months from the date of their last attendance to attend any meeting of the council then they shall cease to be a member, unless the failure was due to some reason approved by the council before the expiry of the period they cease to be a member.



5.3 The publication of the statement of Member attendance is in the interest of good governance and transparency.

6. Use of Appendices

6.1 Appendix 1 – Statement of attendance 2016/17

7. Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985

7.1 Background documents:

Statement of attendance 2015/16

- 7.2 The background papers are located at River Park House, 225 High Road, Wood Green, London N22 8HQ.
- 7.3 To inspect them or to discuss this report further, please contact Michael Kay on 0208 489 2920.



Statement of attendance of Councillors at Council, committees, sub-committees and panel meetings: 16 May 2016 to 12 May 2017 inclusive

The following bodies have not been included:

- Disciplinary and Dismissal Appeals Panel
- Job Evaluation and Grievance Appeals Panels
- outside bodies
- single party meetings (with the exception of scheduled meetings of the Cabinet)

This list represents only the attendance at formal Council bodies as listed on the Appointments of Committees, Sub-Committees and Panels for 2016/17 document reported to Council on 16 May 2016.

These figures do not include apologies for clashes of meetings which are noted as an absence.

Councillors attend numerous community meetings and are required to represent the Council on outside bodies. These meetings may sometimes clash with formal Council body meetings and the Councillor attendance figures set out in this report could be reduced as a result.

Where a member has a personal or prejudicial interest in a matter at a meeting they should absent themselves from the meeting during consultation of that matter. This may result in a reduction of their attendance figures.

This information is publicly available here: http://www.minutes.haringey.gov.uk/mgUserAttendanceSummary.aspx



Councillor Adamou	Lab	Total Expected	Present 14	Absent 2	Apologies 2
Adje	Lab	16	9	7	7
Ahmet	Lab	24	22	2	2
Amin	Lab	14	13	1	1
Arthur	Lab	35	27	8	8
Ayisi	Lab	22	19	3	3
Basu	Lab	28	24	4	4
Beacham	Lib Dem	49	40	9	9
Berryman	Lab	23	19	4	
Bevan	Lab	35	33	2	2
Blake, B	Lab	17	15	2	2
Blake, M	Lab	16	13	3	3
Brabazon (elected 28/7/16)	Lab	14	13	1	1
Bull, C	Lab	10	9	1	1
Bull, G	Lab	11	6	5	5
Carroll	Lab	33	30	3	3
Carter	Lib Dem	38	38		
Christophides	Lab	17	13	4	4
Connor	Lib Dem	22	21	1	1
Demerci	Lab	20	18	2	2
Diakides	Lab	10	10	_	_
Doron	Lab	31	31		
Ejiofor	Lab	10	8	2	2
Elliott	Lab	11	8	3	3
Engert	Lib Dem	15	14	1	1
Gallagher	Lab	22	16	6	6
Goldberg	Lab	17	12	5	5
Griffith	Lab	16	14	2	2
Gunes	Lab	21	20	1	1
Hare	Lib Dem	27	22	5	3
Hearn	Lab	22	20	2	2
Ibrahim	Lab	21	20	1	1
	Lab	6	6		
Jogee Kober	Lab	32	30	2	2
Mallett	Lab	42	36	6	6
Mann, J	Lab	39	33	6	6
Mann, S	Lab	15	13	2	2
McNamara	Lab	14	7	7	5
McShane	Lab	33	23	10	10
Mitchell	Lab	31	27	4	4
	Lib Dem	16	12	4	4
Morris	Lib Dem	12	12	-	4
Newton		17	15	2	2
Opoku	Lab	5	5	2	2
Ozbek	Lab	26	25	1	1
Patterson	Lab	10	6	4	4
Peacock	Lab	12	8	4	4
Reith	Lab	12	o 13	3	2
Rice	Lab				
Ross	Lib Dem	25	21	4	4
Sahota	Lab	15	12	3	3
Stennett	Lab	26	21	5	2
Strickland	Lab	26	25	1	1
Tucker (elected 6/10/16)	Lab	6	5	1	1
Vanier	Lab	28	24	4	4
Waters	Lab	27	23	4	4
Weston	Lab	32	28	4	4
Wright	Lab	25	24	1	1

